Parent Council members

Parent Council Members represent all the parents and carers of students at the school. We welcome anyone who wishes to join us. What brings us together is a wish to make a difference and to help all students at Balerno High School to get the most out of their time at school.

The make-up of the Parent Council is defined in our constitution In summary:

  • no less than 4 parents or carers
  • the Head Teacher or their nominated representative in an advisory capacity
  • up to 2 additional members of Balerno High School teaching staff
  • a representative of the PSA
  • up to 3 representatives from feeder primary schools
  • up to 2 co-opted members representing the local community

In addition, the Parent Council will invite the school’s head boy and head girl, and elected members of the local authority, to attend and participate in meetings.

For the 2021/22 session,  members of the Parent Council are:

  • Alison Robertson, Chair
  • Andrea Brewster
  • Nanda Groenewald
  • Mandy Irvine
  • Trish Lumsden, Treasurer
  • Elaine MacMaster
  • Alastair MacLennan, Vice Chair
  • Elaine MacMaster
  • Nick Weir
  • Adrienne Wilson
  • Marion Milne (Balerno Community Council co-opted member)