Pupil Support

Pupil Support at Balerno High School is designed to provide an integrated and planned approach to ensure that each pupil feels known and valued, has his or her needs met and is able to meet his or her full potential throughout their education and beyond.

The school support system is organised around into three houses: Bavelaw, Cockburn and Malleny. Each house is led by a Pupil Support Leader (PSL). Within each house, PSLs have a responsibility for the personal, curricular, vocational and social development of the pupil’s progress. PSLs closely monitor and track progress and attainment across the school and provide support strategies where required as well as providing pastoral support as needed. To ensure each pupil achieves their full potential, house staff liaise regularly with teachers, parents/ carers and, where necessary, appropriate external agencies and third-sector organisations.

The Pupil Support Team is ably supported by a number of professionals, including, but not limited to:

Rebecca Shannon: School Counsellor

Jen Williamson: Pupil Support Officer

PC Jimmy Dee : Police – School Link Officer

Yvonne McGinley: Educational Psychologist

Gillian Ross: Skills Development Scotland

Roxy Nicol: Developing the Young Workforce Co-ordinator

Catriona Maclean: ASL Team Leader

Elizabeth Scotstoun: School nurse

Educational Welfare Service Officers

CAMHS (Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service)

As required, PSLs will link with voluntary organisations who can provide services such as family mediation, counselling, coaching and other supports that individuals and families can require.

If you would like to discuss any concerns regarding your child’s welfare or progress please contact the appropriate PSL.

(To prevent spam the @ symbol in emails is replaced with ‘ at ‘.)

Bavelaw: Ryan Charters  ryan.1.charters‘ at ‘ea.edin.sch.uk

Cockburn: Jacqueline Thompson jacqueline.thompson’ at ‘balernochs.edin.sch.uk

Malleny: Vaila Wright vaila.wright’ at ‘balernochs.edin.sch.uk